Posts tagged Auto-Plus NHRA Nationals

Drivers sign autographs for Alex

Eleven NHRA Mello Yello Series drivers were on hand Thursday evening for an autograph session at Classic Harley-Davidson near Reading to help raise funds for the Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation.

Several dozen fans lined up at the dealership to get autographs, take pictures and shake hands with their favorite drivers.

Drivers to sign autographs for good cause

Fans attending the 29th annual Auto-Plus NHRA Nationals will have the chance to get up close and personal with some of their favorite Mello Yello Series drivers and help support a good cause.

An autograph session will be held Thursday, Oct. 3 from 6 to 8 p.m. at Classic Harley-Davidson, located on Route 183 north of Reading. Admission is free, but attendees may wish to make a donation to the Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation at the door.

Among the NHRA racers scheduled to be in attendance are:

  • Blake Alexander
  • Brandon Bernstein
  • Johnny Gray
  • Shane Gray
  • Matt Hagan
  • Andrew Hines
  • Allen Johnson
  • Eddie Krawiec
  • Spencer Massey
  • Tony Schumacher
  • Greg Stanfield

For more information contact Classic Harley-Davidson at (610) 916-7784.

The Auto-Plus NHRA Nationals will is Oct. 3-6 and is part of the NHRA’s Countdown to the Championship. For ticket information, contact Maple Grove Raceway at (610) 856-9210 or visit here.

Hagan gets some R&R before Auto-Plus Nationals

There’s work to be done this week for Matt Hagan and it doesn’t include his Mopar/Rocky Boots Funny Car. He has chores at home on his cattle farm in rural Virginia.

Home for Hagan is an escape from the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series scene. It’s where he can reflect, relax and rejuvenate his mental game. And that’s exactly what he’s doing prior to the 29th annual NHRA Nationals at Maple Grove Raceway in Reading, Pa.

With three of six Countdown to the Championship playoff races complete, the Mopar team is clinging to the points lead in the Funny Car class by six points over 15-time champion John Force. Led by crew chief Dickie Venables, Hagan has a runner-up finish and two quarterfinal finishes in the past three events. More >

Force wins at St. Louis

John Force raced to his 136th career victory and moved into position to earn a 16th Funny Car world championship title Sunday at the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway Motorsports Park near St. Louis.

Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Erica Enders-Stevens (Pro Stock), and Matt Smith (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also were winners at the 21st race of the season and third of six playoff events in the NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship.

Force powered to his second win of the season with a final-round performance of 4.097 seconds at 310.13 mph in his Castrol GTX Ford Mustang while defending world champ Jack Beckman trailed in his Valvoline/MTS Dodge Charger with a 4.127 at 309.84. More >

Schumacher looking for momentum

Throughout his standout career, Top Fuel driver Tony Schumacher has shown an impressive ability to rally when the pressure is at its most intense level.

After struggling through the first two races of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Countdown to the Championship playoffs, the seven-time world champion will again need to rely on that expertise over the final four events of the 2013 season.

Schumacher and his 8,000-horsepower U.S. Army dragster will have an opportunity to get back on track this weekend at the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals, Sept. 27-29 at Gateway Motorsports Park. Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Jack Beckman (Funny Car), Erica Enders-Stevens (Pro Stock), and Eddie Krawiec are the defending winners of the third of six races in the Countdown to the Championship. The race will be televised by ESPN2HD and Schumacher is eager to move up in the points standings from the fifth position he currently holds. More >

E.T. Shootout field is set

The field has been set for the Money Trail E.T. Shootout that will be held during the Auto-Plus NHRA Nationals on Oct. 5-6:

  • Gold Rush Trailers Super Eliminator: Mike Daniels, Don Mattson, Nick Daniels, Jack Grater.
  • Ciccarone Racing Products Pro Eliminator: Paul Thimm Jr., Jeff Allebach, Curt Rubendall, Gary Simpers.
  • P.C. Richard & Son Street Eliminator: Adam Werner, Dave Sciarretta, Dawn Helman, Joe McLaughlin.
  • Ray’s Yamaha Top Bike: Allen Heilner, Joe Stuebner, Cory Stuebner, Bob Bechtel.

The winner receives the golf cart and the runner-up gets a 32-inch HD TV.

D&G Golf Carts, Awesome Vinyl, Potty Queen and P.C. Richard & Son sponsor the race.

Sunoco Race Fuels Money Trail E.T. Series members in the Super, Pro, Street and Top Bike categories were eligible. At each Money Trail event, the winners, runner-ups and semifinalists in those classes had their names entered into a special drawing box for each eliminator. The drawing was held at the season finale on Aug. 31.

All 16 names will then be placed into another drawing for qualifying positions at the event. The 16 racers will be placed onto a standard NHRA Sportsman ladder.